Bob Mondello http://krcc.org en Send Out The Doves: 'Noah' Lands On Solid Ground http://krcc.org/post/send-out-doves-noah-lands-solid-ground The story of Noah's Ark is getting blockbuster treatment in Hollywood's new biblical epic <em>Noah</em>. Darren Aronofsky's film about the Old Testament shipbuilder has been sparking controversy — but there's no denying that the Great Flood, digitized, is a pretty great flood.<p>"In the beginning there was ... Fri, 28 Mar 2014 22:01:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 16946 at http://krcc.org Send Out The Doves: 'Noah' Lands On Solid Ground Review: 'The Grand Budapest Hotel' http://krcc.org/post/review-grand-budapest-hotel Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Filmmaker Wes Anderson makes movies that are eccentric, pointedly artificial and, to his fans, very funny. From his early comedies "Rushmore" and "The Royal Tannenbaums," to last year's Oscar-nominated "Moonrise Kingdom," Anderson's movies have looked and sounded different from everyone else's in Hollywood. And critic Bob Mondello says that streak continues with his spoof of extravagant 1930s melodramas. It's called "The Grand Budapest Hotel."<p>BOB MONDELLO, BYLINE: The hotel looks a bit like a pink wedding cake perched atop a Swiss Alp. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 15987 at http://krcc.org Alain Resnais, Director And Master Of Disorientation, Dies At 91 http://krcc.org/post/alain-resnais-director-and-master-disorientation-dies-91 Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The French filmmaker who shook up European cinema and offered inspiration to directors as varied as Woody Allen and David Lynch died on Saturday. Alain Resnais caused a sensation with his films "Hiroshima Mon Amour" and "Last Year at Marienbad" in the 1950s and '60s. Critic Bob Mondello offers an appreciation.<p>BOB MONDELLO, BYLINE: Memory, or rather how unreliable memory can be, fascinated Alain Resnais. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 21:23:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 15808 at http://krcc.org On Philip Seymour Hoffman, And His Many Appearances http://krcc.org/post/philip-seymour-hoffman-and-his-many-appearances <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WzY2pWrXB_0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQ_4m2ocxhI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vRud1so-Z-M</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 21:27:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 14659 at http://krcc.org On Philip Seymour Hoffman, And His Many Appearances A Century Ago Today, Chaplin Made His Film Debut — In A Dud http://krcc.org/post/century-ago-today-chaplin-made-his-film-debut-dud <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LoLw4TJKdU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-j2K3A1S5ak</p> Sun, 02 Feb 2014 22:18:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 14620 at http://krcc.org A Century Ago Today, Chaplin Made His Film Debut — In A Dud Peter O'Toole, Exuberant From 'Lawrence' To His Last Role http://krcc.org/post/peter-otoole-exuberant-lawrence-his-last-role Blond, blue-eyed and wearing blazing white robes in <em>Lawrence Of Arabia</em>, Peter O'Toole was handsome enough — many said beautiful enough — to carry off the scene in which director David Lean simultaneously made stars of both his title character and his leading man.<p>The scene: a wrecked train, blown up by Lawrence and surrounded by his Bedouin followers, one of whom has just smashed a news photographer's camera. O'Toole's Lawrence explains that the man thinks the camera will steal his soul. Mon, 16 Dec 2013 07:59:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 12701 at http://krcc.org Peter O'Toole, Exuberant From 'Lawrence' To His Last Role Chasing Money, And Meaning, In 'Nebraska' http://krcc.org/post/chasing-money-and-meaning-nebraska Woody Grant has white hair, a cranky disposition and a stubbornness that just won't quit. When we meet him, he's being stopped by a highway patrolman as he's walking down the shoulder of a Montana interstate. Wed, 13 Nov 2013 23:59:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 11361 at http://krcc.org Chasing Money, And Meaning, In 'Nebraska' Biography Of Director Bob Fosse Razzles, Dazzles And Delights http://krcc.org/post/biography-director-bob-fosse-razzles-dazzles-and-delights <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CX-24Zm0bjk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BuTPupqrTDo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CX-24Zm0bjk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oF0I-9p_yDM</p> Thu, 07 Nov 2013 20:57:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 11091 at http://krcc.org Biography Of Director Bob Fosse Razzles, Dazzles And Delights This 'Time,' Supernatural Love Story Falls Flat http://krcc.org/post/time-supernatural-love-story-falls-flat There's a phrase in French — "<em>L'esprit de l'escalier</em>," meaning "staircase wit" — for that moment when you've lost an argument and are walking away, and <em>waaay</em> too late, think of the perfect comeback. If you could just rewind your life a few minutes, you'd win the argument.<p>That's pretty much the setup in the new British comedy <em>About Time</em>.<p>We meet shy, young Tim (Domhnall Gleeson) as he's making a total mess of an opportunity to kiss a girl on New Year's Eve. Sat, 02 Nov 2013 20:38:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 10862 at http://krcc.org This 'Time,' Supernatural Love Story Falls Flat For A Free Spirit, A Grim '12 Years' In Chains http://krcc.org/post/free-spirit-grim-12-years-chains Just a few years before the start of the Civil War, two anti-slavery books became best-sellers in the United States. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 16:40:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 10190 at http://krcc.org For A Free Spirit, A Grim '12 Years' In Chains Beat Manifesto: 'Kill Your Darlings,' Figuratively And ... http://krcc.org/post/beat-manifesto-kill-your-darlings-figuratively-and Hollywood's been trying to get a handle on the Beat Poets for years. Allen Ginsberg, William Burroughs and Jack Kerouac led wild — and influential — lives. But films about them, like <em>Naked Lunch</em> and <em>On the Road</em>, have never really clicked with audiences. Wed, 16 Oct 2013 21:59:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 10106 at http://krcc.org Beat Manifesto: 'Kill Your Darlings,' Figuratively And ... Bob Mondello Remembers Columbus Day 1963, And A Visit To Camelot http://krcc.org/post/bob-mondello-remembers-columbus-day-1963-and-visit-camelot Fifty years ago, President Kennedy hosted a Columbus Day ceremony in the Rose Garden, and I was there. Fourteen-year-old me, with my family. This was a fluke. The President had cracked a politically uncool Mafia joke a few days before. Mon, 14 Oct 2013 18:29:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 9991 at http://krcc.org Bob Mondello Remembers Columbus Day 1963, And A Visit To Camelot 90 Years Later, 'Safety' Still The Last Word With Harold Lloyd http://krcc.org/post/90-years-later-safety-still-last-word-harold-lloyd There may be no film image more iconic: Harold Lloyd, high above the street, dangling from the minute hand of a giant department-store clock.<p>The face of the clock swings down; the minute hand bends. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 22:16:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 6083 at http://krcc.org 90 Years Later, 'Safety' Still The Last Word With Harold Lloyd For Actress Ruby Keeler, Another Opening, Another Show http://krcc.org/post/actress-ruby-keeler-another-opening-another-show Ruby Keeler was an unknown actress when she starred in the 1933 production of Busby Berkeley's <em>42nd Street</em>.<p>But the movie was so popular she was able to land two more splashy musicals that same year — and seven more by the end of the decade. There was nothing extraordinary about her talents as a vocalist or as an actress, but audiences of the Depression era really bought into Keeler's "innocent" onstage persona. In fact, they craved it.<p>Her life story was also a source of optimism for many during bleak times. Wed, 17 Jul 2013 22:14:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 5794 at http://krcc.org For Actress Ruby Keeler, Another Opening, Another Show In Argentina, Coca-Cola Tests Market For 'Green' Coke http://krcc.org/post/argentina-coca-cola-tests-market-green-coke <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZaMOt8gQl4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_o-z6JLugWE</p> Mon, 15 Jul 2013 21:21:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 5673 at http://krcc.org In Argentina, Coca-Cola Tests Market For 'Green' Coke A Kindergarten, A Story And A Life In Shambles http://krcc.org/post/kindergarten-story-and-life-shambles Lukas works in a Danish kindergarten, and it's clear he's in the right place: When the kids look at him, they see a great big toy.<p>That's especially true for 5-year-old Klara, the lonely daughter of Lukas' best friend, Theo. Klara's folks fight a lot, and her teenage brother is too busy looking at dirty pictures with his buddies to pay her much attention.<p>Lukas, though, treats her kindly, and she's developed a little crush. She spends an afternoon making him a paper heart with glitter. Sat, 13 Jul 2013 19:12:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 5582 at http://krcc.org A Kindergarten, A Story And A Life In Shambles Bullock And McCarthy, Packing 'Heat' (And Laughs) In Boston http://krcc.org/post/bullock-and-mccarthy-packing-heat-and-laughs-boston Summer movies, as <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/monkeysee/2013/06/14/191568762/at-the-movies-the-women-are-gone">you may have noticed</a>, are overwhelmingly male-dominated. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 18:54:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 4843 at http://krcc.org Bullock And McCarthy, Packing 'Heat' (And Laughs) In Boston When 'G' Movies Are For Kids, Do Kids Avoid 'G' Movies? http://krcc.org/post/when-g-movies-are-kids-do-kids-avoid-g-movies If you're a parent with small children, summer is traditionally a time when there's lots for them to see at the multiplex. That's not <em>un</em>true this summer. But if you're specifically looking for a film with a G rating, you may just be out of luck.<p>Two years ago, out of the more than 600 films submitted to the Motion Picture Association of America, 16 got rated G — the most in a decade. Last year, even if you counted re-releases, only 10 films got rated G. And this year, of the 250 films that have opened so far, not a single one has been rated G. Not one. Thu, 06 Jun 2013 19:48:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 3755 at http://krcc.org When 'G' Movies Are For Kids, Do Kids Avoid 'G' Movies? Movie Reviews: What 'After Earth' And 'Kings' Have In Common http://krcc.org/post/movie-reviews-what-after-earth-and-kings-have-common Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block. Two movies open today that at first glance have little in common, the science fiction blockbuster "After Earth" and the suburban indie comedy "Kings of Summer." Leave it to our critic Bob Mondello to find similarities.<p>BOB MONDELLO, BYLINE: Will Smith is playing a general in "After Earth" named Cypher Raige, which tells you all you really need to know about the character, but let's brush in a few details. Fri, 31 May 2013 21:04:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 3471 at http://krcc.org Summer Movie Preview: Kids, Theft, The Apocalypse, And Joss Whedon http://krcc.org/post/summer-movie-preview-kids-theft-apocalypse-and-joss-whedon Trending, trending. M Night Shyamalan sees dead people. I see trends.<p>This will be a summer of Adolescents Triumphant, with kids overcoming parental units specifically to tame a hostile environment, be it a planet (Shyamalan's <em>After Earth</em>) a woodsy suburban clearing (<em>Kings of Summer</em>), or a waterpark (<em>The Way Way Back</em>). Tue, 28 May 2013 14:15:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 3248 at http://krcc.org Summer Movie Preview: Kids, Theft, The Apocalypse, And Joss Whedon More Time Together, Though 'Midnight' Looms http://krcc.org/post/more-time-together-though-midnight-looms Celine and Jesse are sporting a few physical wrinkles — and working through some unsettling relational ones — in <em>Before Midnight, </em>but that just makes this third installment of their once-dewy romance gratifyingly dissonant.<p>It's been 18 years since they talked through the night that first time, Julie Delpy's Celine enchanting and occasionally prickly, Ethan Hawke's Jesse determined to charm; their chatter then, as now, scripted but loose enough to feel improvised as captured in long, long takes by Richard Linklater's cameras.<p>Take a peek back at 1995's <em>Before Sunrise,</em> and Fri, 24 May 2013 20:49:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 3140 at http://krcc.org More Time Together, Though 'Midnight' Looms New 'Trek' Goes 'Into Darkness,' But Not Much Deeper http://krcc.org/post/new-trek-goes-darkness-not-much-deeper The opening sequence of J.J. Abram's new entry in the <em>Star Trek</em> universe has all the ingredients of the classic franchise.<p>There's Kirk and his crew bellowing on the bridge, everyone worrying about the prime directive and our favorite Vulcan trapped in a volcano.<p>OK, I'm in. I may not be a fanboy anymore, but I sure was in my youth, and having these guys in their youths again is just as cool at the outset as it was last time.<p>Chris Pine's baby-Shatner is spitting his lines while Zachary Quinto channels his inner Nimoy. Sat, 18 May 2013 22:14:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 2764 at http://krcc.org New 'Trek' Goes 'Into Darkness,' But Not Much Deeper Polley's 'Stories': A Family Saga Strikingly Spun http://krcc.org/post/polleys-stories-family-saga-strikingly-spun Sarah Polley grew up the fifth of five children in a Canadian theatrical family. Her father, Michael, is a transplanted British actor; her mother, Diane, was an actress and casting director. No wonder Sarah feels her family's narrative has the stuff of drama.<p>"I'm interested in the way we tell stories about our lives," she says in the film, "about the fact that the truth about the past is often ephemeral and difficult to pin down."<p>Prophetic words, those.<p>But let's start from the film's beginning. Fri, 10 May 2013 20:47:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 2382 at http://krcc.org Polley's 'Stories': A Family Saga Strikingly Spun In 'Iron Man 3,' A Metalhead Gets The Blues http://krcc.org/post/iron-man-3-metalhead-gets-blues Y'know, I think this bummed-out superhero thing is catching. Depressed Bat-guy, brooding Spider-dude, even the Man of Steel seems existentially troubled in previews of his most recent incarnation.<p>And smart-alecky Iron Man? He'd appeared inoculated by Tony Stark's reflexive snark from succumbing to a similar ailment — but even he's having anxiety attacks these days. Thu, 02 May 2013 21:14:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 1999 at http://krcc.org In 'Iron Man 3,' A Metalhead Gets The Blues Digging Into Ricky Jay's 'Deceptive' Card Tricks http://krcc.org/post/digging-ricky-jays-deceptive-card-tricks When people talk about movie magic, they rarely mean card tricks. Wed, 17 Apr 2013 19:26:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 1253 at http://krcc.org Digging Into Ricky Jay's 'Deceptive' Card Tricks