Ed Ward http://krcc.org en The Animals: The British Invasion That Wasn't http://krcc.org/post/animals-british-invasion-wasnt <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDlrRQ6Yzis</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jxNEiZhpinY</p> Thu, 01 May 2014 16:54:00 +0000 Ed Ward 18484 at http://krcc.org The Animals: The British Invasion That Wasn't The Soul Singer Who Never Quite Made It http://krcc.org/post/soul-singer-who-never-quite-made-it <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysdrbd3LeGM</p> Wed, 15 Jan 2014 16:54:00 +0000 Ed Ward 13890 at http://krcc.org The Soul Singer Who Never Quite Made It When Memphis Made A Move On Nashville's Country Monopoly http://krcc.org/post/when-memphis-made-move-nashvilles-country-monopoly <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2u94Feswfw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=al6P75kscBw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Orz0jU8pcP0</p> Thu, 02 Jan 2014 19:51:00 +0000 Ed Ward 13388 at http://krcc.org When Memphis Made A Move On Nashville's Country Monopoly A Nostalgic — But Bumpy — Journey With The Beach Boys http://krcc.org/post/nostalgic-yet-tainted-journey-beach-boys <em>All it takes is two seconds of hearing "Round round get around / I get around" and you're there — in the sun, on the beach, in the '60s. The Beach Boys vaulted up the charts while branching out from surf music to psychedelia. This year the remaining band members released </em>Made in California<em>, a six-CD box set loaded with outtakes and other rarities. Tue, 10 Dec 2013 18:56:00 +0000 Ed Ward 12465 at http://krcc.org A Nostalgic — But Bumpy — Journey With The Beach Boys Bumpy, Bikers And The Story Behind 'Leader Of The Pack' http://krcc.org/post/bumpy-bikers-and-story-behind-leader-pack <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=faIlLD61Okg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yW_rYLoIR08</p> Thu, 26 Sep 2013 19:11:00 +0000 Ed Ward 9195 at http://krcc.org Bumpy, Bikers And The Story Behind 'Leader Of The Pack' The Dawn Of Sun Records: 15 Hours Of Blues http://krcc.org/post/dawn-sun-records-15-hours-blues Sam Phillips is famous for saying that if he could find a white boy with the authentic Negro sound and feel, he'd make a billion dollars. Seeing Phillips in his striped sport coat and tie in 1950, you might well wonder if he'd know that sound and feel if it came up and bit him. But he'd been a fan of blues and country music since childhood, and he bet that his technical knowledge and feeling for this music could make him money.<p>So in January 1950, Phillips, a red-haired Alabama boy who'd learned about radio and electronics in the U.S. Fri, 06 Sep 2013 17:42:00 +0000 Ed Ward 8246 at http://krcc.org The Dawn Of Sun Records: 15 Hours Of Blues Fame Studios And The Road To Nashville Songwriting Glory http://krcc.org/post/fame-studios-and-road-nashville-songwriting-glory <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15398372/dan-penn">Wallace Daniel Pennington</a> grew up singing. His father played guitar and his mother played piano, and by the age of 9, the young man had a guitar of his own. The family attended church on Sunday and Wednesday each week, and to this day, Dan Penn says he remembers the entire Methodist congregation belting out hymns.<p>As his family's only boy, Penn got his own room, and in it was a little green radio he used to smuggle beneath the sheets at night so he could listen to WLAC from Chicago. Wed, 12 Jun 2013 17:28:00 +0000 Ed Ward 4040 at http://krcc.org Fame Studios And The Road To Nashville Songwriting Glory Arctic Records: Drafting A Blueprint For The Philly Sound http://krcc.org/post/arctic-records-drafting-blueprint-philly-sound Arctic Records opened for business late in 1964. The label was the brainchild of Jimmy Bishop, the program director of WDAS — at the time Philadelphia's No. 1 black radio station. If that sounds like a conflict of interest, you don't know much about the music business in Philadelphia back then. Besides, it didn't help Arctic's first single, "Happiest Girl in the World" by the Tiffanys, three local teenagers who sang backup in various studios. Mon, 10 Jun 2013 17:06:00 +0000 Ed Ward 3925 at http://krcc.org Arctic Records: Drafting A Blueprint For The Philly Sound Jerry Lee Lewis: Live, Singing As If Life Depended On It http://krcc.org/post/jerry-lee-lewis-live-singing-if-life-depended-it It was April 4, 1964, and Jerry Lee Lewis had officially bottomed out. He hadn't charted a record in years, and now, on tour in England and Germany, he was getting paid so little that he couldn't afford to bring his own musicians. Instead, he was forced to use pickup bands in England, and then, when he arrived in Hamburg, a British band called the Nashville Teens was waiting for him. The venue was the Star Club, where The Beatles, who had just leaped into stardom in America, had played not long before. Fri, 17 May 2013 17:40:00 +0000 Ed Ward 2716 at http://krcc.org Jerry Lee Lewis: Live, Singing As If Life Depended On It Johnny Cash's Columbia Catalog Out Now — As A 64-Disc Box Set http://krcc.org/post/johnny-cashs-columbia-catalog-out-now-64-disc-box-set In 1955, <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15165794/johnny-cash">John R. Cash</a> was a sometime auto mechanic, sometime appliance salesman who liked to play the guitar and sing, mostly gospel songs. The "R" in his name didn't stand for anything — and, in fact, he'd been named J.R. at birth and had to come up with "John" when he joined the Air Force. He'd spend the rest of his life reinventing himself.<p>At first, though, what he wanted to do was make a record. So John and his two-piece band went to Memphis to record for Sun Records. Wed, 10 Apr 2013 15:07:00 +0000 Ed Ward 910 at http://krcc.org Johnny Cash's Columbia Catalog Out Now — As A 64-Disc Box Set