taxes http://krcc.org en Final Day of Legislative Session Sees Passage of Disaster Tax Relief Bill http://krcc.org/post/final-day-legislative-session-sees-passage-disaster-tax-relief-bill <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 0, 102); font-family: Helvetica, Arial, Geneva, geneva, arial, helvetica, sans-serif, veranda, Veranda; font-size: 13px; line-height: 20px;">Colorado’s legislative session wrapped up with a quiet final day, as lawmakers put the finishing touches on several bills and gave tributes to outgoing members. And as Bente Birkeland reports, one of the least controversial measures passed after last minute negotiations.</span></p><p></p> Thu, 08 May 2014 13:06:00 +0000 Bente Birkeland 18775 at http://krcc.org Final Day of Legislative Session Sees Passage of Disaster Tax Relief Bill 'The $100 Million Question': What To Do With All That Marijuana Tax Money? http://krcc.org/post/100-million-question-what-do-all-marijuana-tax-money The market for legal recreational marijuana in Colorado is booming, and the state is expecting millions of dollars more in tax revenues that initially projected. That has lawmakers grappling with the best way to spend all of that additional cash.<p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 16:39:15 +0000 Bente Birkeland 15606 at http://krcc.org 'The $100 Million Question': What To Do With All That Marijuana Tax Money? Joint Tax Returns May Soon be Available for CO Gays & Lesbians http://krcc.org/post/joint-tax-returns-may-soon-be-available-co-gays-lesbians <p>Gay and lesbian couples who are legally married in another state may soon be able to file a joint tax return in Colorado. Birkeland has more from the state capitol.<br />&nbsp;</p><p></p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 14:46:17 +0000 Bente Birkeland 14174 at http://krcc.org Joint Tax Returns May Soon be Available for CO Gays & Lesbians Capitol Conversation: Election Results and Impacts on Education http://krcc.org/post/capitol-conversation-election-results-and-impacts-education <p></p><p>Colorado voters support taxing recreational marijuana, but gave a crushing defeat to a proposed billion-dollar tax increase for public schools. In this special election edition of Capitol Conversation, Bente&nbsp;Birkeland analyzes the long- term impacts of the election results with political reporters.</p><p><br /><p><br /></p></p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 23:50:27 +0000 Bente Birkeland 11041 at http://krcc.org Capitol Conversation: Election Results and Impacts on Education Voters Mixed on State Issues http://krcc.org/post/voters-mixed-state-issues <p>Colorado voters gave a mixed reaction at the ballot box on a pair of statewide tax increases during yesterday’s election. As Bente Birkeland reports, voters didn’t want to tax themselves to pay for education, but were overwhelmingly willing to tax recreational marijuana to help rebuild schools.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Supporters of Amendment 66 waged a vigorous get out the vote campaign flush with outside money from the likes of Bill Gates and New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg.</p><p>It wasn’t enough to convince voters to say “yes.”</p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 16:26:46 +0000 Bente Birkeland 11023 at http://krcc.org Voters Mixed on State Issues Education Campaign Kicks Off http://krcc.org/post/education-campaign-kicks <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 0, 102); font-family: Helvetica, Arial, Geneva, geneva, arial, helvetica, sans-serif, veranda, Veranda; font-size: 13px; line-height: 20px; ">Supporters of a tax increase for K-12 schools turned in petitions today to try and get the measure on the November ballot. They submitted twice the amount required by law. Bente Birkeland has more from the state capitol.</span></p><p></p> Mon, 05 Aug 2013 21:17:24 +0000 Bente Birkeland 6689 at http://krcc.org Education Campaign Kicks Off Education Tax Ballot Initiative http://krcc.org/post/education-tax-ballot-initiative <p></p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 13:59:36 +0000 Bente Birkeland 6552 at http://krcc.org Education Tax Ballot Initiative