election http://krcc.org en Reimbursement for Recall Elections Unlikely http://krcc.org/post/reimbursement-recall-elections-unlikely <p>Now that Colorado’s historic recall elections are over, there’s an ongoing clash about who should foot the bill. The recalls of two Democratic lawmakers cost over $400,000. As Bente Birkeland reports, the Secretary of State’s Office says he can’t legally reimburse counties for the elections.<br />&nbsp;</p> Fri, 17 Jan 2014 14:38:05 +0000 Bente Birkeland 13968 at http://krcc.org Reimbursement for Recall Elections Unlikely Response to Energy Industry Lawsuits http://krcc.org/post/response-energy-industry-lawsuits <p></p><p>Colorado’s energy industry trade group is now involved on three fronts with lawsuits over voter approved fracking bans or moratoriums. The latest move involved the announcement of suits against Lafayette and Fort Collins.&nbsp;</p><p><br /><p><br /></p></p><p>A lawsuit is already pending against the city of Longmont for a ban approved in 2012. Some in the state say a lawsuit is the wrong way to go.</p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 14:56:25 +0000 Bente Birkeland 12557 at http://krcc.org Response to Energy Industry Lawsuits Mixed Results for Governor in New Poll http://krcc.org/post/mixed-results-governor-new-poll <p>Less than a year away from the 2014 election, <a href="http://www.quinnipiac.edu/institutes-and-centers/polling-institute/colorado/release-detail?ReleaseID=1977" target="_blank">a new poll from Quinnipiac University</a> shows Governor John Hickenlooper edging out his Republican challengers, but as Bente&nbsp;Birkeland reports, reaction is also mixed to some of his policies.</p><p><br /><p><br /></p></p> Wed, 20 Nov 2013 15:24:02 +0000 Bente Birkeland 11645 at http://krcc.org Mixed Results for Governor in New Poll Capitol Conversation: Election Results and Impacts on Education http://krcc.org/post/capitol-conversation-election-results-and-impacts-education <p></p><p>Colorado voters support taxing recreational marijuana, but gave a crushing defeat to a proposed billion-dollar tax increase for public schools. In this special election edition of Capitol Conversation, Bente&nbsp;Birkeland analyzes the long- term impacts of the election results with political reporters.</p><p><br /><p><br /></p></p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 23:50:27 +0000 Bente Birkeland 11041 at http://krcc.org Capitol Conversation: Election Results and Impacts on Education Voters Mixed on State Issues http://krcc.org/post/voters-mixed-state-issues <p>Colorado voters gave a mixed reaction at the ballot box on a pair of statewide tax increases during yesterday’s election. As Bente Birkeland reports, voters didn’t want to tax themselves to pay for education, but were overwhelmingly willing to tax recreational marijuana to help rebuild schools.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Supporters of Amendment 66 waged a vigorous get out the vote campaign flush with outside money from the likes of Bill Gates and New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg.</p><p>It wasn’t enough to convince voters to say “yes.”</p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 16:26:46 +0000 Bente Birkeland 11023 at http://krcc.org Voters Mixed on State Issues Clerks in El Paso, Pueblo Counties Say Voter Turnout Appears Up http://krcc.org/post/clerks-el-paso-pueblo-counties-say-voter-turnout-appears <p></p><div><p>Colorado voters have until 7 tonight to turn in their ballots in today’s election.&nbsp;For nearly a month, El Paso and Pueblo County Clerks have been collecting mail-in ballots.</p></div><p>Despite a slow start, Pueblo County Clerk and Recorder Gilbert Ortiz is optimistic about the turnout.</p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 23:14:17 +0000 Martha Perez-Sanz & Kate Dunn 11000 at http://krcc.org Clerks in El Paso, Pueblo Counties Say Voter Turnout Appears Up As Election Nears, Critics And Supporters Spar Over Education Tax http://krcc.org/post/election-nears-critics-and-supporters-spar-over-education-tax With just over three weeks until the election, the campaign asking Colorado voters to approve a $1 billion tax increase to pay for improvements to public schools are planning what they call a robust door-to-door operation.<p> Fri, 18 Oct 2013 03:04:30 +0000 Bente Birkeland 10108 at http://krcc.org As Election Nears, Critics And Supporters Spar Over Education Tax New GOP State Senators Sworn Into Office http://krcc.org/post/new-gop-state-senators-sworn-office <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 0, 102); font-family: Helvetica, Arial, Geneva, geneva, arial, helvetica, sans-serif, veranda, Veranda; font-size: 13px; line-height: 20px; ">A pair of Republican state lawmakers took the oath of office yesterday, after winning historic recall elections last month. Gun control legislation was behind the recall effort. But even with two more Republican Senators at the state capitol, Democrats are still in control of both the House and Senate. Bente Birkeland has more.</span></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 21:14:52 +0000 Bente Birkeland 9582 at http://krcc.org New GOP State Senators Sworn Into Office Buck to Enter U.S. Senate Race http://krcc.org/post/buck-enter-us-senate-race <p></p><p></p><p>Republican Weld county district attorney Ken Buck plans to challenge Democratic U.S. Senator Mark Udall next year. Buck filed the paperwork today and as Bente Birkeland reports, he’ll first need to win the Republican primary.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 08 Aug 2013 22:23:47 +0000 Bente Birkeland 6883 at http://krcc.org Buck to Enter U.S. Senate Race Education Tax Ballot Initiative http://krcc.org/post/education-tax-ballot-initiative <p></p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 13:59:36 +0000 Bente Birkeland 6552 at http://krcc.org Education Tax Ballot Initiative