Colorado Foundation for Water Education http://krcc.org en Post-Flood Planning in Boulder County http://krcc.org/post/post-flood-planning-boulder-county <p><br />The historic September 2013 flood reshaped waterways across Colorado’s northern Front Range, making major changes to both the manmade and natural environments.&nbsp; Over the past ten months, homeowners, planners and policy makers have grappled with difficult decisions over where and how to rebuild, and when to let Mother Nature take her new course.<br />&nbsp;</p><p></p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 13:33:00 +0000 Sam Fuqua 22325 at http://krcc.org Post-Flood Planning in Boulder County Planning for the Future: Water Education for Colorado's Youth http://krcc.org/post/planning-future-water-education-colorados-youth <p><br />When it comes to water, Colorado’s kids can expect to face a challenging future;&nbsp; a growing population and increasing demand may mean difficult trade-offs.&nbsp; That’s one reason educators and policy-makers say it’s critical to teach young people about water management.</p><p></p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 01:00:06 +0000 Sam Fuqua 21775 at http://krcc.org Planning for the Future: Water Education for Colorado's Youth Water Conservation on the Minds of Colorado Brewers http://krcc.org/post/water-conservation-minds-colorado-brewers <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">With over 200 breweries and </span>brewpubs<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, Colorado is one of top beer producers in the country.&nbsp; All that beer requires a lot of water.&nbsp; Brewers large and small are working to conserve the precious liquid that is crucial to creating the other precious liquid.</span></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 22 May 2014 21:52:41 +0000 Sam Fuqua 19469 at http://krcc.org Water Conservation on the Minds of Colorado Brewers ICYMI: Connecting the Drops Call-In, Water & Energy http://krcc.org/post/icymi-connecting-drops-call-water-energy <p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 04:15:13 +0000 Maeve Conran 17807 at http://krcc.org ICYMI: Connecting the Drops Call-In, Water & Energy Connecting the Drops Live Call-In Sunday on KRCC http://krcc.org/post/connecting-drops-live-call-sunday-krcc <p> Sun, 13 Apr 2014 15:11:32 +0000 Andrea Chalfin 17644 at http://krcc.org Connecting the Drops Live Call-In Sunday on KRCC Colorado Leads the Charge in Small Hydropower Projects http://krcc.org/post/colorado-leads-charge-small-hydropower-projects <p></p><p>Using the force of moving water to generate electricity is an old idea.&nbsp; For much of the 20th century, hydroelectric technology led to the construction of giant dams across the American West and around the world.&nbsp;&nbsp; But big hydro projects have a big impact on surrounding ecosystems, and Colorado is at the center of a growing move toward hydropower on a smaller scale.<br />&nbsp;</p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 13:33:00 +0000 Andrea Chalfin & Sam Fuqua 16852 at http://krcc.org Colorado Leads the Charge in Small Hydropower Projects Water Use and Electric Generation http://krcc.org/post/water-use-and-electric-generation <p><br />It takes water to produce electricity, but <em>how much</em> water varies a lot depending on the fuel source and the power generating technology. In Colorado, around half a percent of our total water usage is used to generate electricity.<br />&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">It’s a small percentage, says Stacy </span>Tellinghusen<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, water policy analyst for Western Resource Advocates, a non-profit conservation group, but adds that it’s not inconsequential.&nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 14 Feb 2014 14:47:00 +0000 Sam Fuqua 15037 at http://krcc.org Water Use and Electric Generation