Black Forest Fire http://krcc.org en Report: Black Forest Fire Chief Acted Properly http://krcc.org/post/report-black-forest-fire-chief-acted-properly <p>The Black Forest Fire/Rescue District has released some of the findings from an independent investigation into Fire Chief Bob Harvey’s response during last year’s devastating blaze.&nbsp; KRCC’s Andrea Chalfin reports.<br />&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 20 Feb 2014 04:20:23 +0000 Andrea Chalfin 15337 at http://krcc.org Report: Black Forest Fire Chief Acted Properly Sheriff Disputes Claims Black Forest Fire was Intentionally Set http://krcc.org/post/sheriff-disputes-claims-black-forest-fire-was-intentionally-set <p></p> Thu, 21 Nov 2013 14:32:50 +0000 Andrea Chalfin 11687 at http://krcc.org Sheriff Disputes Claims Black Forest Fire was Intentionally Set Who Pays? Breaking Down the Red Canyon Fire and its $1 Million Price Tag http://krcc.org/post/who-pays-breaking-down-red-canyon-fire-and-its-1-million-price-tag <p></p><p></p><p>Once again this summer, the Western United States saw plenty of forest fires. Some continue to burn. When the flames are extinguished, the dollar signs emerge, and states handle fire suppression costs differently. In Colorado, it depends on what kind of land is burning and how big the blaze is.</p> Thu, 05 Sep 2013 13:33:00 +0000 Marci Krivonen 8153 at http://krcc.org Who Pays? Breaking Down the Red Canyon Fire and its $1 Million Price Tag The Ins and Outs of Disaster Photography: An Interview with Bryan Oller http://krcc.org/post/ins-and-outs-disaster-photography-interview-bryan-oller <p></p><p>Local Freelance Photojournalist Bryan Oller took some of the most memorable photos of the Waldo Canyon and Black Forest fires, and he’s been covering the flooding in Manitou. I spoke with him about the challenges of documenting disasters so close to home.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 22:51:26 +0000 Noel Black 7556 at http://krcc.org The Ins and Outs of Disaster Photography: An Interview with Bryan Oller El Paso County Works to Repair Flooded Culverts http://krcc.org/post/el-paso-county-works-repair-flooded-culverts <p></p><p>With thunderstorms in the forecast for the next few days, the possibility of flash flooding in El Paso County remains.&nbsp; As KRCC’s Liz Ruskin reports, the county is working to repair roads in the Black Forest area damaged in last weekend’s floods.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The county is placing road maintenance equipment in Black Forest so it can quickly remove flood debris and keep drainages open. County Spokesman Dave Rose says the big challenge is a large drainage system that runs south through the burn area and then along Shoup Road, an important east-west route.</p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 13:06:00 +0000 Liz Ruskin 6888 at http://krcc.org El Paso County Works to Repair Flooded Culverts Saturday Sandbag Pickup: Waldo Canyon & Black Forest http://krcc.org/post/saturday-sandbag-pickup-waldo-canyon-black-forest <p></p><p>Sandbags will be available to homeowners facing impacts from potential flash flooding in and near the Waldo Canyon burn scar. &nbsp;They'll be given away free at the Verizon Wireless building on Garden of the Gods Road from 8 - 2 Saturday. The sand comes from last week's Olympic Downtown Celebration and its sand volleyball pit.</p> Sat, 03 Aug 2013 00:01:45 +0000 Andrea Chalfin 6592 at http://krcc.org Saturday Sandbag Pickup: Waldo Canyon & Black Forest Disaster Declarations for Royal Gorge, Black Forest Fires http://krcc.org/post/disaster-declarations-royal-gorge-black-forest-fires <p></p><p>The federal government has approved a major disaster declaration for the Royal Gorge Fire in Fremont County.&nbsp; The declaration means federal aid is available to deal with the effects, including unemployment benefits for Royal Gorge Bridge &amp; Park employees and others who are out of work after this summer’s wildfire, who aren’t otherwise eligible for state jobless benefits.&nbsp; Aid is also available for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged facilities. Governor John Hickenlooper’s office says a similar request for the Black Forest Fire is pending.</p><p></p> Fri, 26 Jul 2013 23:01:57 +0000 Andrea Chalfin 6257 at http://krcc.org Disaster Declarations for Royal Gorge, Black Forest Fires Insurance Estimates Near $300 Million for Black Forest Fire http://krcc.org/post/insurance-estimates-near-300-million-black-forest-fire <p></p> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 14:50:30 +0000 Grace Hood 5703 at http://krcc.org Insurance Estimates Near $300 Million for Black Forest Fire